The Kentucky Governor's Office of Early Childhood (GOEC) and the Early Childhood Advisory Council (ECAC) serve as the State Advisory Council for Early Childhood Care and Education. 

We are charged with promoting the vision for Kentucky's early childhood system and advocating for improved quality of early childhood services in order to increase the number of Kentucky children who reach kindergarten ready to succeed and thrive in school and life. 

We do this by working across cabinets to strengthen existing state systems and encouraging collaboration and cooperation to improve early childhood programs. The office works alongside numerous departments, agencies, state, and local organizations.  Departments, agencies, and state and local organizations such as: 

Amanda Adkins
Project Coordinator

Portrait of Lynn  Baker.
Lynn Baker
Project Specialist

Portrait of Amanda Flanary.
Amanda Flanary
Deputy Director/Director Kentucky Head Start Collaborative Office

Megan Greenwell
Project Specialist

Portrait of Brenda Hagan.
Brenda Hagan
Project Specialist

Rebecca King
Project Coordinator

Portrait of Amy Neal.
Amy Neal
Executive Director

​The Advisory Council Members

Early Childhood Advisory Council includes diverse backgrounds and organizations that lend their expertise and experience to provide leadership, direction, and support to serving the children, families, and communities of the Commonwealth. The Early Childhood Advisory Council meets quarterly on the third Thursday from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm. During each meeting, the Advisory Council advises on the early care and education system, provides progress updates on the 5-year strategic plan and facilitates collective commitment to increase access and opportunity for children across the state.

Meetings are open to the public and we welcome attendance from those who are passionate about providing a strong foundation for all children in the Commonwealth. If you have any questions or need assistance, please call Amanda Adkins at 502-782-0200 or email her at amanda.adkins@ky.gov

Portrait of Twila Burdette.
Twila Burdette
Rockcastle Early Childhood Education Council Child Development Center Director
Portrait of Travis Burton.
Travis Burton
Director of Political Affairs, Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
Portrait of Danny Carroll.
Danny Carroll
Kentucky State Senate, District 2
Portrait of Jacqueline Coleman.
Jacqueline Coleman
Lt. Governor, Secretary, Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Portrait of Deedee Cummings.
Deedee Cummings
CEO of Abi Behavioral Health, Make A Way Media & The Louisville Book Festival Therapist, Attorney & Children's Author
Portrait of Anita Dowd.
Anita Dowd
Executive Staff Advisor, Kentucky Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Portrait of Kim Fithian.
Kim Fithian
Head Start/Early Head Start Director, Ohio Valley Education Cooperative
Portrait of Eric Friedlander.
Eric Friedlander
Secretary, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Portrait of Paula Goff.
Paula Goff
Branch Manager, Department of Public Health, Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Portrait of Amy Hood.
Amy Hood
Infant/Toddler & Early Childhood Specialist for Training and Technical Assistance Services, Western Kentucky University
Portrait of Amy Neal.
Amy Neal
Executive Director, Kentucky Governor’s Office of Early Childhood
Portrait of John Roden.
John Roden
Chair, Early Childhood Advisory Council
Portrait of Amanda Flanary.
Amanda Flanary
Director Kentucky Head Start Collaborative Office
Portrait of Amy Smith.
Amy Smith
Principal and Preschool Coordinator, Pulaski County Schools
Portrait of Sarah Vanover.
Sarah Vanover
Division Director, Department for Community Based Services, Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Portrait of Scotty Collier.
Scotty Collier
Principal, Jefferson County Schools
Portrait of Connie White.
Connie White
Deputy Commissioner of Clinical Affairs, Department of Public Health, Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Portrait of Rina Gratz.
Rina Gratz
Director of Early Childhood Education, Jefferson County Public Schools
Portrait of Felicia Cumings  Smith.
Felicia Cumings Smith
Senior Director, US Regions National Geographic
Portrait of Traci  Stemmle.
Traci Stemmle
Vice President, PNC Bank
Portrait of Jason Glass.
Jason Glass
Commissioner of Kentucky Department of Education
Portrait of Greta McKenzie.
Greta McKenzie
Early Intervention Specialist, First Steps
Portrait of Beth  Morton.
Beth Morton
Director, Child Development Baptist Health Lexington CDC
Portrait of Brittany Howell.
Brittany Howell
Director of Student Services, Frankfort Independent Schools
Portrait of Jaesook  Gilbert.
Jaesook Gilbert
Professor, Early Childhood Education
Portrait of Annette W.  Bridges,.
Annette W. Bridges,
EdD Ready Child Ready School Consulting, LLC